IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Getting microswitches/why are djdao so expensive
mind the gap
post Mar 10 2009, 05:30 PM
Post #1


Moes Before Bros
*****

Posts: 1,061
Joined: 19-August 05
From: State College, PA




For some reason I never before realized how ridiculously easy it must be to make a pop'n ASC. Why does DJDao and Desktop Arcade (and ransai died apparently but they too) charge over 200 bucks for a controller? I suppose they have to make a premium but the amount of technical skill required to make these things is pretty low. The hardest part would be finding the big circular buttons. I am assuming those are pretty expensive, that's why the controller makers charge so much.

Anyway, anyone know where you can get the microswitches used in these things?


--------------------
(01:39:20 AM) threeof2side222: the internet is my nerv hospital room
(01:39:23 AM) threeof2side222: and i'm so fucked up
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rmz
post Mar 10 2009, 06:10 PM
Post #2


Neophyte
************

Posts: 11,724
Joined: 23-February 04
From: completely darkness


DJ Battle This User




QUOTE
Why does DJDao and Desktop Arcade (and ransai died apparently but they too) charge over 200 bucks for a controller

Labor cost (time spent) I suppose.

IIRC it works out to somewhere around $120 for a set of 9 buttons I think? It's been a while.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Buffalo
post Mar 11 2009, 03:17 PM
Post #3


The Shadow
*****

Posts: 1,314
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gray SLAKE, IL




Also, a DJ dao controller isn't just a box with 9 buttons. It actually looks... pretty het?

Wondering where I can go buy some replacement microswitches too.


--------------------
Buffalo buffalo Buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo Buffalo buffalo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
over there
post Mar 11 2009, 03:47 PM
Post #4


World's Biggest Xythar Fan No Longer
*********

Posts: 5,767
Joined: 27-May 05
From: Laurel, Maryland


DJ Battle This User

View User Page
Pop'n Battle This User




Steve of DA used to sell Cherries for 50 cents a pop, I'm pretty sure you can find some provider that you can buy in bulk from and get a great deal on.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bartz
post Mar 12 2009, 03:10 PM
Post #5


Rising in the Sun
***

Posts: 466
Joined: 19-January 07
From: Edmonton


DJ Battle This User




Akihabarashop.jp has them, but they are 3,995 yen a piece.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
afrogeoff
post Mar 15 2009, 05:33 PM
Post #6


Dazzlin' Darlin
**

Posts: 51
Joined: 18-July 08
From: Van CAL




Hey everybody,

I was just wondering what kind of microswitches that the actual Pop'n Music arcade machine uses.
I got a DAO with the default microswitches and they require quite a pounding. The buttons don't feel as clicky as the arcade ones.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
afrogeoff
post Mar 15 2009, 05:33 PM
Post #7


Dazzlin' Darlin
**

Posts: 51
Joined: 18-July 08
From: Van CAL




Hey everybody,

I was just wondering what kind of microswitches that the actual Pop'n Music arcade machine uses.
I got a DAO with the default microswitches and they require quite a pounding. The buttons don't feel as clicky as the arcade ones.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bartz
post Mar 16 2009, 03:47 AM
Post #8


Rising in the Sun
***

Posts: 466
Joined: 19-January 07
From: Edmonton


DJ Battle This User




Whoa, double posts!

The ones that are in the arcade machines are the one being sold by akihabarashop.jp. The button name is OBSA-100UMQ. They are...you guessed it...made by Sanwa.

If you give the DAO some time, they will loosen up. The problem with buying new buttons is that they are super stiff at first.

This post has been edited by Bartz: Mar 16 2009, 03:54 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DDRaHolic
post Mar 16 2009, 10:24 AM
Post #9


Tranoid
****

Posts: 846
Joined: 6-December 04
From: Baton Rouge, LA




So I'm guessing you can't use those little microswitches you get at Radio Shack? They look like the ones in the pop'n controller, but they have an extra little piece of metal coming out of the top that you can press downward, like a lever. I'm guessing that's the switch. Five of the buttons on my controller are screwed too.


--------------------
QUOTE (Marlie Tang @ Jun 3 2011, 09:07 PM) *
ddraholic is so dumb (and is established as being dumb)

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Buffalo
post Jun 13 2009, 02:32 AM
Post #10


The Shadow
*****

Posts: 1,314
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gray SLAKE, IL




Bump, I'm looking to find a place where I can replace mine.


--------------------
Buffalo buffalo Buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo Buffalo buffalo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 6th December 2019 - 04:38 PM